Spring Grove JI&N School, Water Street, Huddersfield, HD1 4BJ

01484 517998


Spring Grove Junior Infant and Nursery School

Structure And Remit Of Governors


Governors Structure and Remit of the Governing Body Structure


Full Governing Body

The Governing Body consists of 12 members as follows:

  •  1 Head Teacher
  •  2 Parent Governors
  •  1 LA Governor
  •  1 Staff Governor
  •  7 Co-opted Governors

The Chair of the full Governing Body is Dr Berenice Golding.

There are also 2 committees that are set up to monitor specific areas of governance which meet once per term:

  • Resources Committee.   Chair is Mr Mustapha Qudah
  • Standards and Effectiveness Committee.  Chair is Elizabeth Price

There are other committees that will meet as and when required:

  • HT Performance Committee;
  • Staff Pay Committee;
  • Staff Pay Appeals Committee;
  • Pupil  Discipline Committee and
  • Complaints Committee.


The Department of Education has a Governance Handbook which sets out the 3 main roles of the Governing Body as follows:

  • 1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • 2. Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school     and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  • 3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is       well spent. 



Name Appointed by From To
Deborah Lea Appointed by GB/board 07/03/2020 06/03/2024
Diane Mahon Appointed by GB/board 04/04/2017 04/04/2021
Elizabeth Price Appointed by GB/board 27/02/2019 27/02/2024
Mohammed Riaz Appointed by GB/board 09/04/2018 08/04/2022
Mohammed Shaffique Appointed by GB/board 07/03/2017 07/06/2021
Mustapha Qudah Appointed by GB/board 05/04/2020 04/04/2024


Historical Governors.

Name Role Appointed by From To
Hannah Brown Governor Appointed by GB/board 01/06/2016 01/06/2020
Jabbar Ahmed Governor Appointed by GB/board 16/04/2016 30/09/2020
Rebecca Holroyd Governor Appointed by GB/board 13/04/2016 13/04/2020